Posted on

Competition Time!

I am sitting in a cafe in Highgate which is almost next to the delicatessan where I FINALLY tracked down a jar of Patum Peperium – much discussed here at the Vincentennial Cookblog.

I’m going to pop in there any minute and buy another portion of aforementioned relish as a competition prize.  If you have never tried it you are in for a big treat.  To win this, a Silver Screen Suppers pen and a transcribed Vincent Price recipe of your choice (banged out on my very own old fashioned typewriter) all you need to do is leave a comment below.  What I’d really like to know is, if you could have a leisurely brunch on a day where you had all the time in the world and you could have anything you wanted what would it be?  I will read these with interest and a name will be picked out of the hat to win.  Will post anywhere in the world chums!

My brunch of choice would be Vincent Prices’s Buckingham Eggs which I recently made with Patum Peperium – what about you?

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

17 responses to “Competition Time!

  1. David Rose ⋅

    Eggs Benedict on English Muffins with a pot of coffee, OJ ( the juice not the wife murderer),a copy of the Guardian and it would have to be on a sidewalk table in a cafe somewhere around 3rd and Wilshire in LA.

  2. Pingback: Recipe of the Month – Joan Crawford’s Steak with Roquefort Sauce | Silver Screen Suppers

  3. Charlotte ⋅

    We’ve got this little cafe here–only open mornings–that somehow managed to escape progress. It looks like a place out of the sixties–complete with abstract art and Birkies. :o) Everything is handmade–from scratch; he grinds his own sausage. Even the coffee is organic. They do a crab benedict with their house hollandaise; serve it up with a side of beignets.

    There’s a tiny garden out back. A seat in the garden with a good friend..lots of time to visit..some crab benedict and beignets with coffee? Life is good.

  4. Lauren

    Not to seem greedy since I’ve already won a jar of marmalade, but I do love sharing my favorite brunch: fried chicken and waffles with Grade B maple syrup and coffee with cream.

  5. GAD – even though I have just eaten Haggis, Neeps and Tatties that is making me hungry. Sounds like the kind of breakfast you could get at “Mildred’s”

  6. Hot cakes and sausage with Ernie Kovacs!
    (Hear the song here)

  7. "Jeanne" ⋅

    My leisurely brunch wish is to be ensconced in a well-furnished flat in Paris, view to either the Eiffel Tower or the Arch de Triomphe, possibly near Rue Cler or the Saxe marche where I will have purchased the ingredients for the brunch. I am sitting on the spacious balcony in my cafe chair at my cafe table, and my sweetheart is sitting in the other chair. We are sipping mimosas made with fresh-squeezed orange juice and expensive champagne. On our plates are buttered (Normandy butter) and jammed tartines and croissants, or perhaps petit pain au chocolat, and some scrambled eggs. There are two ‘grand creme’ coffees steaming away in large cups. And there is a plate of summer fruits on the table; we stab at the fruits with our sterling silver forks, piercing each delicious morsel before delicately popping them into our mouths. And we have all the time in the world just to ponder what we will be doing for the rest of the week which, of course, promises perfect weather.

  8. Silverlya ⋅

    You can get this in Sainsbury’s Local. Even in the one’s in the suburbs.

  9. Thanks for entering my competition my lovelies. The random number has selected DAVID ROSE as our lovely winner.

Leave a Reply

