Posted on

Chicken Vermouth With Rice

Last night it was my turn to host the ladies of the book group.  It’s always a scramble making dinner for 6 on a Friday night after work but Vincent was my saviour.  This recipe was really easy, just bung it all in a big casserole and let the chicken poach in the vermouth for an hour and a half.  OMG it was delicious.  Definitely recommended.

I’ve been wanting to try Ptolemy’s Rose Geranium Cake for a long time so I made it on Thursday to give it time to infuse.  I was a bit worried about it as I made the classic schoolgirl error of turning the dial on the cooker to GRILL rather than OVEN so for the first 15 minutes it was under the grill…  No matter, it was absolutely gorgeous.  I made the cardamom creme fraiche to go with it too – perfect.  Bad photo follows…

I didn’t have any Rose Geranium leaves so I plopped on some of the fattest strawberries I have ever seen, which Mary kindly brought with her.  Oh it was YUMMY.   You can find the recipe via Ptolemy’s website – it’s in the Sunday Times article from 2006.

I must have first heard about this cake way back in 2005, Ptolemy told us on the Arvon course that it was the perfect cake to cook when you were planning to seduce someone.  I must ensure that I have all the ingredients necessary in my store cupboard at all times…

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

3 responses to “Chicken Vermouth With Rice

  1. Lauren

    Love vermouth. I use it all the time. I don’t have Cooking Price-Wise (darn it!), but there’s a Julia Child recipe for chicken breasts that are oven-poached and they have vermouth and cream and are to-die-for, so I can imagine yours was very tasty, as well. Oh, darn. Now I’m hungry!

  2. Moya

    Wow that cake looks good. I shouldn’t be reading your blog when I’m hungry!

  3. Hi Lauren, would you like me to send you the recipe? It sure is good. I wonder if Vincent’s was inspired by Julia’s – perhaps we could swap? and Moya, you should try Ptolemy’s cake. I think it is the most delicious cake I have EVER made.

Leave a Reply

