Posted on

Boeuf a la Bourguignonne (Beef Stew Burgundy Style)

I phoned my dad from Sainsbury’s this morning for advice about wine.  I couldn’t remember whether I needed a Burgundy or a Bordeaux.  I guess the clue is in the title, but I didn’t have my shopping list with me.  My dad wasn’t in, so I stood in front of all the French wines realising that I know very little about wine.  I need to get hold of Vincent’s 1977 LP recording, “Wine Is Elegance”.

When I spoke to my mum later she knew exactly what I should have bought but said that my dad used all kinds of wine in his versions of Boeuf a la Bourguignonne and that’s why he always calls it, “Beef in Red Wine”.  Ha, love it, so pragmatic!  I’m glad she said that though as I went for a Bordeaux – Chateau La Tulipe de la Garde.  And very nice the two glasses that didn’t go in the Bourguignonne were too!

Man oh man, that Don Draper gets off with EVERYONE.  What an absolute cad.

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.  There is a whole book about eating at The Pavillon – but it costs $200 so I’m saving up.  Henri Soule died shortly after publication of the Treasury and the restaurant closed 5 years later.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

2 responses to “Boeuf a la Bourguignonne (Beef Stew Burgundy Style)

  1. Lauren

    When we make Beouf a la bourguigonne, it’s usually with whatever is either already in the fridge or what’s on sale. I really prefer French wines, but we drink more Australian wines than French because they’re so darn cheap. I do love a good Cotes du Rhone or Beaujolais Villages…

    I need a free wine course, too! The most thought I put into it is usually “red or white?”

  2. Mine is usually, “one bottle or two?”

Leave a Reply

