Posted on

Farmhouse Chicken Casserole

My lovely chum Ben came round for Sunday lunch and I made this easy-peasy casserole.  It was GOOD.  And it was very good to see Ben.  He’d dropped off the radar for a while but when he arrived with FIVE BOXES OF RECORDS I knew we were in for a fun afternoon.  I love the technique of carrying one on the belt – he’s exhausted after climbing 4 flights of stairs…

The Shellac Sisters have a lot of gigs coming up to celebrate the Queen’s Jubilee and several have asked us to play 1950s music.  As my collection is predominantly 1930s Ben has kindly offered to lend me some of his platters.  He’d been collecting them here and there and like me, finds it hard to get rid of any duff ones that just happen to be lurking amongst the good ones.  When I happened upon a Tommy Steele record he kindly allowed me to smash it on the kitchen floor (I have an irrational dislike of Mr Steele).  One of the pieces was fashioned into a rather fetching shellac moustache.

We did a bit of hula hooping and then Ben did an excellent DJ spot with his box of Ska records while I did the washing up.  A really lovely day with a very dear friend.

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

Leave a Reply

