Posted on

Chicken Vermouth With Rice

Made a schoolgirl error with this dish last night.  Didn’t read the recipe properly and made my own mind up about how much salt to put in.  I should know by now that if Vincent specifies a certain measurement of salt, that’s what the recipe needs.  It was a bit too salty but still good.  Poaching the chicken in vermouth makes it soooooooooooooo succulent and delicious. The ladies of the book group liked it, they ate it all!  Same with the John Boles Picnic Marble Cakes which were also a hit.

Something momentous happened today.  I talked on the telephone with a man.  For more than 10 minutes.  This is very, very unusual as I don’t like talking to men on the phone.  But I surprised myself by enjoying talking to this one.  It is another indication that I really do need to get a new phone.  So that I can actually hear what this man is saying should he ever call me again…

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

Leave a Reply

