Posted on

Cabbage in Sour Cream

Mmmmm – I don’t often swear in the cookblog but this was bloody delicious.  It was a case of having half a cabbage and some sour cream to use up and I looked in the “Come Into the Kitchen Cookbook” and there it was.  White wine vinegar – the secret ingredient.  This is what Vincent and Mary’s version looked like (top left of the picture).

That’s Mexican Beef at the bottom, looks good doesn’t it?  I might have a go at this one, even though I have no idea what makes it Mexican after looking at the recipe.
I am listening to the football on the radio.  I admit, this is partially because I am interested in someone who is interested in football, but I wish to state right here that I LIKE FOOTBALL.  I have been to a fair amount of football matches, I have played football myself (which gave me a whole new perspective on it) and I like watching it on TV.  So I knew tonight’s game (Manchester United v Manchester City) was a big deal.

I’ve really enjoyed listening to it on Five Live but I’ve been a bit shocked at the misogyny of one of the commentators who has been really snide about a woman commentator in the press box.  One of his comments was: “The lady journalist has tapped a few words into her i-pad”.  Honestly.  Some men like knitting, some women like football.  Get over it!

Blime – that’ s my doppelganger on the far left there!

Recipe from: Come Into the Kitchen Cookbook

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

Leave a Reply

