Posted on

Green Salad

Ooh, I’ve been craving cucumber for days.  Feels like I’ve been eating a lot of rubbish this week so a good old fashioned green salad was just what I needed.  This is an approximation of the greenery Vincent recommended for his salad – I had some extra green stuff in my fridge which I bunged in. The  Vincent touch of the wiggly edges of the cucumber slices is what makes it a bit special.  Cute.  I used the TINES of a fork (have never actually used the word tines before) to make indentations before slicing.  I had Marlene Dietrich’s advice about cucumbers to the forefront of my mind as I prepared them:

“Peel cucumbers not from the narrow end down.”

Marlene pointed out that the narrow end of a cucumber was often bitter and a knife could transfer the bitterness to the whole cucumber.  It’s one of those things that once it is in your head, it is impossible to ignore.  I must try and resist becoming the type of woman that points this out every time I see someone peeling a cucumber.  Or holding a cucumber.  Or even looking at a cucumber in the supermarket…

Look at those cucumber wielding hands!

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

2 responses to “Green Salad

  1. I never really thought of Marlene Dietrich as the type of woman who went around dispensing practical kitchen advice! I guess she was a bit of a hausfrau at heart.

    P.S. I was able to find the animated version of the St. George record you sent me. Too cute!

  2. OMG Lauren this is FANTASTIC. You are going to make my friend Lawrence a very happy man. He’s gonna love this cartoon.

    I cannot recommend Marlene’s “ABC” book highly enough. She has a lot to say about cooking, definitely a hausefrau!

Leave a Reply

