Posted on

Chicken in Pineapple

Ha ha ha!  As a diehard spinster I always rejoice when I see a recipe that “Serves 1” and I’ve been wanting to have a go at this for a LOOOOOOONG time.  My goodness what a palaver it was!  But what a delight to be sitting at my dinner table alone, spooning out delicious creamy chicken mixture from a hollowed out pineapple.  It seemed incredibly self indulgent.

You should see the kitchen though.  I had to make a chicken velouté (in the “Blender Magic” section of Vincent’s Treasury of Great Recipes) then transform it into a Supreme Sauce (adding cream) then muck about with some chicken and mushrooms and shallots and sherry and egg yolks and more cream…  I think every single utensil in my kitchen needs washing up.  But I’ve got other things on my mind.  It’s a free listings day on ebay and I have things like this to sell…

Not sure if I’ll get round to it as it is 9.20pm already…

It’s been a fab weekend at the Palace of Solitude.  There has been children here.  Yes.  Children.  Here!

Here’s one chilling on my sofa:

and here’s one hiding in my sideboard:

What fun.

And tonight when I was just about to serve myself with a chicken filled pineapple I had a power cut.  I suspected it was an overload on the system due to every single ring on my hob going at full blast keeping all the elements hot whilst the cast of Les Miserables found out they were the peoples’ choice at the Olivier Awards.  I am not a great fan of musical theatre but my kitchen radio is fairly stuck on R2 and they were blasting out one of their songs when the lights went out so I blame them.

It broke my dream from last night though.  When I woke up this morning my head was full of it but I’d since forgotten all about it.  I was in a major earthquake situation.  I was hanging on to a bar at a bar if you see what I mean (I could see the optics clearly) and my body was flying out horizontally behind me, legs flapping around in the force of the quake.  Out of the corner of my eye I saw BETTY DRIVER come in to the bar, wearing an amazing dress reminiscent of Ginger Rogers’ dress in Top Hat during the Cheek to Cheek routine:

Betty’s dress was a MASS of white feathers with some accents of black and yellow.  I can just see her now, in the midst of all the earthquake madness sitting down on a sort of pouffe and flopping backwards to wait it out.

As always when I see someone I haven’t seen for a while in my dreams I think how lovely it is that they have come to visit.  Nuts.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

One response to “Chicken in Pineapple

  1. Darn that musical theatre–always causing problems. I like some musicals, but I’m picky. Chicken in pineapple sounds fantastic, but I’m not sure I’m up to getting everything in my kitchen dirty. I’ll occasionally make something rather involved then I have to eat easy things like baked eggs or pasta for days to make up for all that work!

Leave a Reply

