Posted on

Lasagna Update

My dinner was a triumph!  Here’s the picture from the Betty Crocker Modern Hostess cookbook.  And here is my version:

Tee hee.  What fun.  Vincent’s lasagne was absolutely divine.  Vic said it was the best lasagne he’d ever eaten which is a huge compliment of course.  The Kabobed Antipasto Salad (Betty’s recipe rather than Vincent’s) was pretty weird.  Pepperoni, cheese cubes, olives, spring onions, celery and cherry tomatoes on sticks with a lettuce and egg skirt.  I said, “I don’t know what the hell we are going to do with all of that.” and Vic said, “I’m going to eat all of those eggs that’s for sure!”

I cheated on the garlic bread.  Never having considered buying a pre-made one before I was quite frankly flabberghasted that there was more or less a whole aisle of ready to bake garlic bread in Morrisons.  Who knew?  I just knew I wouldn’t have time to muck about so I bought one.  So apart from that, and marinading my own olives, the spread was just as Betty Crocker said it should be.  Very satisfying!

Mad Men was much enjoyed by all of us.  Corinna made Gimlets – Betty Draper’s tipple – and they were yummy.  I sat in the camping chair drinking can after can of beer and drinking in every frock and piece of furniture.  Joan is still my favourite but I’m loving Don’s new secretary too.  Does anyone know the name of the little piece of jewellery that holds the edges of a cardi together so you can wear it without having your arms in the sleeves?!  Love that.

Recipes from: The Treasury of Great Recipes by Vincent and Mary Price and Betty Crocker’s Hostess Cookbook.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

3 responses to “Lasagna Update

  1. your kabobs are a wonder to behold!!! It all looks great. BRAVO!

  2. They’re called “sweater clips.” I don’t see them very often in my antiquing, but I have seen several tutorials on blogs on how to make them with old clip-on earrings. Glad the lasagne turned out well. I am intrigued by the Antipasto kabobs. I don’t have the hostess cookbook, but my New Dinner for Two has some crazy stuff in it.

  3. aha – sweater clips. Yes. And the idea of making some with clip-on earrings is genius. I used to make LOTS of things but I think all my creative energy goes on writing now. Still, I’ve got 4 days off work so maybe I’ll put my mind to a little crafting as well as cooking this Easter…

Leave a Reply

