Posted on

Lasagna

I am ahead of the game for tonight’s MAD MEN dinner party.  Vic, Corinna and Kieron are coming round to watch episode one of the new series on the DVD projector.  I am going to prepare the “Old Italy Buffet” in the Betty Crocker Hostess Cookbook.  This was a gift from Corinna and I let out a yelp when I saw a copy of it propped up in Betty Draper’s kitchen.  So I am pretty sure Betty would have made this buffet, or at least thought about it!

On the menu is: Baked Lasagne (Vincent’s recipe from The Treasury), Kabobed Antipasto Salad and Garlic Toast.  I shall be throwing in some chicken legs as I promised Vic.

The lasagna looks great and I was really pleased that there was enough meat sauce and cream sauce to make a mini two portion version for the freezer – will have that when the Adorable Gary C comes to visit on Wednesday.  I’ll have to report back on the taste but I know Cathy has made this twice and says it’s delicious.  I’ll also have to compare it to the lasagna recipe in the “Come Into the Kitchen Cookbook” which I don’t remember having white wine in…

Can’t wait to see my Madison Avenue chums again, I have missed them something rotten.

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

Leave a Reply

