Posted on

Potato and Fish Chowder

Mmmm.  This was VERY nice.  I took the picture before I remembered to put the cream in though.  I used sweetcorn instead of mushrooms but other than that I made it just to Vincent’s recipe and it was pretty perfect.  Good thing to make on a work night as it took no time at all.  Oh, I only had new potatoes so I didn’t peel them, it would probably have been a bit mushier if I’d used peeled floury potatoes.  Mm.  I shall make this one again.

I’m watching, “If a Man Answers” which Vic loaned me.  I very much like Sandra Dee’s leopard print coat:

it reminds me very much of the one my Shellac Sister Jane bought at Goodwood.  Talking of Shellac Sister Jane, here is a film of her with the QUEEN.  I am not joking.  Jane Fryers meets the Queen at Fortnum & Mason.  Our little sister!

I also like Sandra Dee’s very shiny pale nail varnish and I did laugh when her dream sequence revolved around baking a massive pie for Bobby Darin:

And Vic was right.  There are some good dogs in this movie.  And who would have imagined that in 2010 someone would have thought to actually create the book that Sandra Dee uses to tame her husband:

 

You can actually buy this!

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

2 responses to “Potato and Fish Chowder

  1. What female hasn’t dreamed of baking a massive pie for Bobby Darin? When I first started dating Paul, his musical tastes were a little–um–louder than mine: Nine Inch Nails, “gansta” rap, etc. Imagine my surprise at finding out he was a Bobby Darin fan.

    P.S. The chowder looks lovely. Haven’t had any in too long!

  2. He he! It really was super yummy. I wish I hadn’t put the leftovers in the freezer as I really fancy having another portion for my dinner tonight. However, I have to test a self heating Mexican Stew with Chorizo. My work has got these weird self heating things to test in case we are ever in some kind of seige situation and can’t get out – not joking. I will report back.

Leave a Reply

