Posted on

Friday Chicken

My beloved Caroline Frick swung by London on her way home to Texas for a couple of days this weekend and it was so brilliant to see her.  I miss her very much and must begin a savings plan so I can go and visit her and her “little tiny” in Austin.  Although we haven’t seen each other for a couple of years it felt just like she lived around the corner and it has made me very sad to see her go.

Heather joined us for dinner and as it was Friday, it seemed appropriate to have Vincent’s Friday Chicken.  It was such a moist and happy little chicken (free range is only a couple of quid more), delicious.  We got VERY drunk on beer and wine and generally talked the hind legs off several donkeys.  I love my friends.

The Silver Screen Suppers website is broken again, but someone is working on retrieving it from Russia or wherever it has gone to.  As last time it only went to Margate, methinks this time might be a little more difficult.  So I’ll post the photo of yesterday’s biscuits here just in case it has gone forever.  These are Claire Windsor’s Snowdrops.  So cute.

I took this biscuit tin full of Snowdrops down to my chums at Audio Gold.  Oh I do love those lovely men.  I am guaranteed some bear hugs whenever I go in there.  Luckily there were a few leftover to give the gorgeous dude I bought a sideboard from later in the day.

A sideboard?  Aren’t I meant to be on an economy drive?  Yes, but it was beautiful and perfect and just what I’d been looking for and it looks terrific.

I will now do my penance for spending money and begin listing a million things for sale on ebay.  After talking about doing this for about 5 years, today is the day I will begin.

Recipe for the Vincent dish from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

Leave a Reply

