Posted on

Wayside Country Sausage and Poached Egg

I was famished this morning and decided to see how my frozen Wayside Country Sausage patties would turn out when reheated.  Just as delicious as the first time…  I had one with baked beans (cooked in the style of an ex – with red onion cooked in loads of butter and a hearty shake of Worcestershire sauce) and a poached egg.  I poached the egg Vincent style, in a whirlpool of vinegary water.  This was the third attempt.  The first two looked like explosions in a egg factory.

It’s Oscars night tonight.  I have no TV so can’t tune in.  But I won my own equivalent of an Oscar on Saturday night so am not too distraught.  I am official the UGLY JUMPER WEARER OF THE YEAR!  And what is more, I made that jumper myself in the 1980s…


I already have Facebook friends fighting over the trophy (do they seriously think I would let a thing of beauty like this out of my sight?) but also the cushion – by Chloe Owens.  I notice that nobody is trying to get the jumper off me….

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

2 responses to “Wayside Country Sausage and Poached Egg

  1. Congrats (?) on your win. I was invited to an ugly sweater party once and asked my mom if I could borrow one of hers, since she has a cache of 80s Christmas sweaters she doesn’t wear anymore. She refused to acknowledge that any of her sweaters could possibly be construed as ugly. She has a particularly frightful one that has a fur collar and snowmen knitted in it. I actually found another one just like it on ebay labeled as “sweater for ugly sweater party.” Mwahhaha

Leave a Reply

