Posted on

Elote Con Crema a la Mexicana (Mexican Creamed Corn)

My second attempt at this yummy creamed corn recipe and it wasn’t as good as the first.  I’m not sure why excatly.  Maybe because I didn’t cook it for long enough?  Maybe because I used more corn than last time (did I use 6 corn cobs last time or 4?) ? Or was it because I bought my Munster cheese from Fortnum & Mason rather than my preferred cheese emporium in “Cheeses” in Muswell Hill ?

I would not normally buy cheese from Fortnums, of course (supposed to be on a budget) but I was there to see my darling friend Jane Fryers’ hats.  She has been selected by the Queen Elizabeth Scholarship Trust for their “Crafting Excellence” exhibition.  Her crafting is indeed EXCELLENT and I am lucky to have worn lot of her wonderful titfers as a fellow Shellac Sister.  I was bursting with pride when I read the Financial Times’ review of the exhibition mentioned Jane’s “very chic veiled hat, made of recycled materials and embellished with incredibly realistic red roses.”  Gorgeous.

Here’s my favourite picture of me and Jane getting up to mischief – our favourite thing to do together – at Gaz’s Rockin Blues a few years ago.  I’m wearing one of her hats…

So proud of her I was that I managed to drink four “My Man Godrey Martinis” with her and her hubby Trix and not only fall over in the snow on my way home but also in one of the classiest locations in London – the Criterion.  Oh the shame of it!  But what a great night…

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

Leave a Reply

