Posted on

Toad-in-the-Hole

Don’t you just love the unexpected?  I was certainly not expecting these little individual Toads to go all puffy and lovely.  They were terrific!  I had two but I probably could have had four.  I’ve been corresponding with someone who likes my idea of a book of Silver Screen Suppers recipes for singletons.  This is certainly a contender.

I will have to brush up on my Maths Medicine though.  Vincent’s recipe served 6 so I had to do a lot of fiddling with the measurements and was a bit perplexed about how to measure 1/3 of an egg.  A perpetual long division problem when most recipes seem to serve 4 or more.  Thank GOD for Delia.

I have two copies of this book…

It’s snowing in Muswell Hill for the first time this winter.  I’ve seen some cars having trouble getting up the hill outside my flat already…

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

One response to “Toad-in-the-Hole

  1. Lauren

    I think you’ve gotten all our snow and we’ve gotten your rain. It’s been a crazy, mixed-up winter here.

    Oh my goodness, I love Toad-in-the-hole. I haven’t made Vincent’s version, though. I think it’s the thought of the Vienna sausages that put me off. I used to love them as a kid, but no longer! Maybe breakfast links would work instead!

Leave a Reply

