Posted on

Ranch Eggs

Eggs.  Yes.  These were good.  But the photo is bad. I hope that the folks over at the food photography course I’m on don’t look at this one.  That vertical line of butter is a no-no.  Learning, slowly…

Yesterday’s lunch with my much cherished chum Steve at Odette’s in Primrose Hill was probably amongst my top five lunches ever.  Thank God for someone I love having an expense account…

I had:

Rabbit lasagna, root vegetables and mustard.

Braised Welsh beef, truffle mashed potato, onion and parsley salad.

Dark chocolate arctic roll, cardamom cream, tangerine sorbet.

The best bit?  The truffle mashed potato.  I need a truffle.  A good one.  STAT.

Ooh, that truffle mashed potato was almost as delicious as Vincent’s Creamed Corn.

There was no shortage of conversation and it reminds me of the fact that some friends are just going to be around for EVER.  Thank heavens.  We first went to Odette’s about 10 years ago and 10 years later we missed the mirrors.  Try as I might, I cannot find a picture of the old interior on the interweb – their signature look was the multitude of mirrors but they have stripped it right back now.

I like the new look too though.  When we left it was almost getting dark and the orange lights looked real perty from the taxi.

Last night I made the acquaintance of Ida Blankenship.  It was a mention of Miss Blankenship by Corinna that made me realise that there were still 12 episodes of Mad Men I hadn’t seen (i am such an ingenue I thought it was OVER at the end of series 3) and I am ploughing through them like there is no tomorrow.

This is why I don’t have a television.  I just don’t know when to turn the video projector off…

Great quote from Roger about food, “I’ve just eaten a jar of olives, I’m stuffed,” and this morning when he was disussing with Don the fact that the wouldn’t be able to drink any booze at the Cassius Clay fight, “This problem can be easily solved with a flask” or words to that effect.

I have a feeling that most problems can easily be solved with a flask.

And now, I must select an outfit to wear to Heather’s “What Was I Thinking” party.  There will be 10 ladies dressed in their worst fashion mistakes.  I have a LOT to choose from.

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

4 responses to “Ranch Eggs

  1. Odette’s how utterly divine i use to live round the corner it was my local. I have just brought back from Beaune a white truffle which i had with a wild mushroom liguine shavings on top a meal made in heaven the rest has been used to make truffle oil. see you at the mustard festival cannot wait xx

  2. Lauren

    Unfortunately in 2012 America, a flask causes a lot more problems than it solves! Damn open container laws. Our neighborhood park has a sign that says, “NO CEREAL MALT BEVERAGE IN PARK.” I guess that means that wine is OK?

    Sounds like a fantastic lunch–I’m still trying to find some rabbit here in Wichita. We’ve got lots in our yard, but that would require the discharge of firearms in city limits, which is also a big no-no.

  3. I LOVE it, I may ask for a cereal malt beverage next time I am in the pub.

    HA! You know how I love to discharge a firearm! But not ready for the rabbits yet…

Leave a Reply

