Posted on

Sopa Poblano (Chili Poblano Soup)

Sometimes you watch the perfect film, at the perfect time, with the perfect person.  And so it was tonight when Corinna came round for a much awaited screening of The Best of Everything.  Even though we live in the same building, like everyone in this crazy, frantic, busy world we live in, we have to get a FIRM date in the diary to do the things we really want to do.  Neither or us had ever seen this movie – and very much wanted to…

Ah yes, their clean-cut faces and dirty little minds!  Yes, bless them.

We are both fans of Mad Men.  Around the middle of last year Corinna read “The Best of Everything” by Rona Jaffe (the book that you can be almost certain triggered a tsunami in the brain of whoever came up with the idea of Mad Men) and passed it on to me.  We both absorbed it in a kind of teenaged girl way and then tonight when we saw the film, screeched loudly about plot twists we’d forgotten from the novel. At one point, when a particularly charming young man arrived on the scene Corinna reminded me that he was, “a bad sort.”  At the risk of breaking one of my New Year’s Resolutions, I have to say that the film was AWESOME!

Of course Joan was amazing:

And of course everything “Mike Rice” said was completely incomprehensible. And he did so remind me of a “choccie” I used to know…

But the BEST thing about it all for me was the unusual and lovely experience of watching a film with someone who was reacting to it with equal enthusiasm as I was.  Usually I watch films alone in silence so  it is strange to watch one with someone else, but Corinna was totally in tune with my feelings.  When Hope Lange slapped someone who really deserved it I couldn’t resist shrieking, “Go girl” and from behind the wings of the yellow swivel chair Corinna peeked around and said, “Oh yeahhhhhh!”

It is a girl’s movie that is for sure but Corinna and I have decided that we should make the viewing of this an annual tradition to mark the end of our  “January funk.”

The soup by the way was bloody delicious and we followed it with the two last pots of Vincent’s chocolate mousse.  I said to Corinna that I probably didn’t have to learn how to make any other dessert than this – because it is so mind blowingly good.   She said that she didn’t think she ever needed to EAT any other dessert.  If you have a copy of the Treasury, I implore you to try the Pot de  Creme Chocolat…  I took ours out of the freezer at about 7pm and they were perfect about 10.

The January funk is definitely over and I’m full of expansive good wishes for good and all.  Not least because the Silver Screen Suppers website is back from oblivion.  Here’s wishing all my readers a wonderful 2012 that contains:

In the second midnight bombshell of 2012 Corinna mentioned something about a character in season 4 of Mad Men.  I’d never heard of this person and it slowly dawned on me that there IS A WHOLE SEASON I HAVEN’T SEEN.  I thought it ended when they all stripped the office and decamped to a hotel…  Life is very, very good.

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

One response to “Sopa Poblano (Chili Poblano Soup)

  1. Lauren

    I’ve never heard of this movie. I’ll have to see if I can get it from Netflix. Sounds like you had the perfect girls’ night!

Leave a Reply

