Posted on

Elote Con Crema a la Mexicana (Mexican Creamed Corn)

Mmmmmmm.  aaaaaaaaaaarg.  Mmmmmmm.  I love sweet corn in all its forms and this is the form I love it in most, as of today.  This is utterly, utterly delicious and I could probably eat it every day of the week.  On paper it doesn’t look like much but the inclusion of Muenster cheese (purchased from the wonderful independent cheese shop in Muswell Hill) and chiles poblanos just made me drool.  As the little chili in the refrigerator of the earliest video game I ever saw used to say, “Ai chihuahua, I’m one chilly chile!”  I have never tasted anything like it.  Vincent, you are a genius.

My Mexican extravaganza was a huge success and as it was January’s Silver Screen Sunday I’ll write it up in full on the other website if I ever get it back.  Still no sign of it.  Am trying not to panic.  Three Amigos was much enjoyed, there was much wearing of sombreros, doing the Three Amigos signature dance routine and singing of songs.  Jessie is a budding singer songwriter and gave a rendition of my favourite of all her songs: “They Suck”.  Ah, what an attitude to have about men in one so young…

Recipe from: “A Treasury of Great Recipes.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

2 responses to “Elote Con Crema a la Mexicana (Mexican Creamed Corn)

  1. Ooo yummy love Mexican-style corn. Have to buy organic corn here, though, because that’s the only way to guarantee it’s not genetically modified. 😦

    “They Suck” reminds me of one of my history professor’s reactions to the news that I was getting married and moving to Kansas. She says (straight-faced), “Maybe he’s not as bad as the rest of them.”

  2. Ha ha – let’s hope your lovely husband proved her right!

Leave a Reply

