Posted on

Buckingham Eggs (cheat’s version)

It is Saturday and therefore there are eggs for breakfast for me.  This version of Vincent’s Buckingham Eggs has all the appropriate things in it, but in a slightly different combination.  The exciting news is that I have found a place where I can buy:

so instead of mixing butter, anchovy paste and mustard together and spreading on the toast, I spread butter, then Patum Peperium then mustard on the toast!  GORGEOUS!  I love the fact that on the side label of the tiny Patum Peperium it says, “Use very sparingly” and inside there is a peel off foil label which reiterates (this time in capitals) USE VERY SPARINGLY. This to me seems a very old fashioned and very English thing to do.  Surely, anyone who works in the modern food promotion and marketing industry would tell them to remove this.  You should want people to slather it all over everything so that they used up their teeny weeny little pot really quickly and bought another…  Another nice old fashioned touch is that if I wash the inside foil cover and send it off to the manufacturer they will send me some recipes.  Which of course, I am going to do…

Excitement is mounting about tomorrow’s Silver Screen Sunday – mega Mexican meal and a screening of The Three Amigos.  I have bought the sombreros!

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

One response to “Buckingham Eggs (cheat’s version)

  1. Oooh please share the recipes they send you! How quaint–I love it and I love “use very sparingly.” Screw 21st-century marketing. It has no charm.

    Have fun tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

