Posted on

Burgers?

I think my photos have to get worse before they get better…

I’ve been wanting to make these for a couple of weeks and I bought the ingredients from memory after falling flat on my fanny in Mortimer Street.  I felt I needed to indulge myself after embarrasing myself – I wasn’t drunk – honest.  I remembered that Vincent had said to put a little square of Roquefort inside each burger, or for a variation, some liver pate.  So I bought both.  And when I got home do you think I could find the recipe?  I scoured the Treasury, Cooking Price-Wise AND Come Into the Kitchen.  No sign of it.  Am I getting so batty over Vincent that I IMAGINED this recipe?  Gawd help us.  I’m posting it here anyhow in case I find it.

The planets are lining up, something momentous is about to happen or maybe it already has?  I met an ex boyfriend for drinks last night and all loose ends dangling around for the last five years are now tied up.   We split up about four and a half years ago and when I asked him how his two daughters were he said, “oh, I have three now.  The youngest is four years old.”  I declined to do the maths as I’m ashamed to say that I don’t know what the gestation period of a human being is.  But I think I can work it out for myself…

He is the last of the cowboys.  If my Silver Screen Suppers website ever comes back online I can probably just put a post up saying, “all men mentioned in the last 5 years are now kaput” and leave it at that. No more men for me.  I am now officially celibate.  There is a news blackout on all events relating to exes.  In fact, this says it all:

I’m Tired from Blazing Saddles

My balloons are busted.

However, much excitement when I discovered that the Mexican restaurant I mentioned in the previous post still exists!  Casa Bonita – Denver – and they still have someone diving off the waterfall.  That’s cheered me up no end.  Perhaps I shall plan a pilgrimage.

Recipe from: My imagination?  Will update here if I find it again…

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

5 responses to “Burgers?

  1. Sincerely hope Silver Screen Suppers comes back on line. I looked for it today and missed it. Lauren loved Humph and Frank and Jason but her autobiog was entitled ‘By Myself.’ Old boyfriends are good but they are no substitute for Vince’s crocodile.

  2. And… Maddie was a genius. In my family we still say ‘biscuit’ the way she pronouncedit in ‘Sherlock Holmes’ Smarter Brother.’

  3. Ha ha – thanks Zelda! Tis true, the single life is good. Occasionally I have an emotional gust and feel sorry for myself, then I watch “I’m Tired” and laugh myself out of it. I am having kittens about Silver Screen Suppers. I guess it still exists and when it comes back I shall look after it better… I was planning to report your thoughts on John Wayne’s Cheese Casserole too… Soon I hope! JX

  4. Seems like I’ve heard of the roquefort-in-the-burger, as well. I’ll look through Treasury this weekend and see if I can uncover anything.

    When I was at the University of Oklahoma, I fell on my butt walking to class in a rainstorm. Right in front of the university president. And he just kept walking–didn’t even ask me if I were OK or anything. What an ass!

  5. Ha ha! I fall over a lot (I have many impractical shoes) – it is AMAZING how many people will just leave me there! This time a lovely, lovely man helped me up and was really solicitous. Thank goodness for the kindness of strangers!

Leave a Reply

