Posted on

Poached Eggs Harlequin

Aw, aint it perty?!  And it’s got booze in it too.  The terrible thing about opening a bottle of sherry to use for a breakfast dish is the irresistible urge to have a couple of “tiny” glasses afterwards too.  Still, it’s my “Mental Health Day” upon which I am supposed to do whatever I fancy.  Alors, so be it!

I’ve been doing a little of what I fancy all weekend too.  I have now watched ALL of the Planet of The Apes films, and indulged myself with Brief Encounter and Genevieve.  I’d forgotten how much I love Genevieve.  The scene where Kay Kendall gets up on stage is one of my favourite scenes in the whole of cinema.  Or at least all of the cinema I have seen so far anyhow.  Wish I had a Kay Kendall recipe.  I love her.

Divine on the trampoline in Female Trouble is probably my ultimate movie moment but I’ve never seen a picture of this on the internet.  I must learn how to do screencaps from DVDS so I’ll have an excuse to watch it again.  Another of my favourite scenes is when Carol Channing busts out with JAZZ BABY in Thoroughly Modern Millie.

Maybe what all three of these have in common is the whole showing off thing.  The kind of talents you imagine as a teenager you could surprise people by having.  Playing umpteen musical instruments and doing a fabulous song and dance routine at the drop of a hat for example.  No wonder Glee is such a hit.  Mind you, I could probably do a passable impersonation of Divine on a trampoline…

I’m not just mentioning Carol Channing so that I can post my photo of me holding her hand, honest.  I’ve just thought of it.  In this picture she has just told Caroline and I a blue story about Tallulah Bankhead.

And Brief Encounter is so ENGLISH.  Oh my goodness the deliciousness of British politeness.  I love it when Trevor Howard says to Celia Johnson, “How awfully nice you are…”  I’m going to end up like Celia Johnson I expect.  Or probably more like Joyce Grenfell who was fab as always in Genevieve.

Thanks to all those who have let me know that the Silver Screen Suppers website has disappeared.  I am trying to find out where it has got to and trying not to panic.  Imagine if five years of blogging is lost…  Lots of memories of lots of lovely breakfast, lunches and dinners with friends all gone…

Recipe from “A Treasury of Great Recipes”.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

4 responses to “Poached Eggs Harlequin

  1. Matthew

    I suspect that if you haven’t been doing anything to it, then SSS has fallen victim to a weird unrequested blogger update thing that’s been going around and making blogs unreadable on Internet Explorer… so it should still be there, but it’s just a formatting problem or something, so we can’t actually see it.

    It’s been a while since I’ve watched all the Planet of the Apes films, but I remember doing so on consecutive afternoons when the video box set first came out, fifteen or so years ago. Happy days.

    When I first interviewed Lola, my wedding chanteuse, for Best of British magazine, she said that the scene where Kay lets rip is her favourite too. She said: “It was the first film I saw her in and still one of my all time favourites. When she gets up to play the trumpet, Kenneth More is dreading it in case she makes a fool of herself, but she really swings it! I can remember thinking ‘What a lady!’”

  2. Oh Matthew I LOVE YOU! Firstly, thanks for the encouraging words about the lost blog. i am so hoping it is that. Fingers crossed.

    And to think that the wonderful Lola Love is also a fan of that scene with Kay Kendall makes me so happy, She is one of those people I so wished lived round the corner from me (along with you and Angela of course). I only met her once, at your wedding, but she is so wonderful.

    It was great fun watching all the Planet of the Apes films in one fell swoop. What an audacious set of films really. Love them.

  3. Oh I hope everything is OK with Silver Screen Suppers. In my browser, it loads the page, but it’s blank. I’m using the Safari browser, if any of this info helps.

    How awesome that you’ve met Carol Channing. I’ve always had a suspicion that she’d be great fun. Love her in Thoroughly Modern Millie.

    YES on the teenage imagination thing. I was in show choir, madrigal choir, theatre, dance and piano. And I fully intended at the time to go into academia, not entertaining! I guess I was going to impress a university president with my Charleston abilities or something.

    I saw Brief Encounter for the first time a couple of years ago and it’s a good thing I watched it at home, because I was drowning in my own tears. I’m terrible horrible about crying uncontrollably in movies. My mother took me to see Moulin Rouge when it came out and I started bawling twenty minutes in. She was mortified!

  4. Carol was WONDERFUL. It was a surreal experience as I was in the States for my friend’s wedding at The Madonna Inn in California – which is a surreal place as it is – http://www.madonnainn.com/ It was the day before the nuptials and a few of us were sitting in the bar and a woman in a red catsuit was on stage to the right of us rehearsing something. Heather came in and said, “That woman looks a bit like Carol Channing” and the barman said, “It IS Carol Channing”. She was doing a PRIVATE PERFORMANCE for the owner of the Madonna Inn and her family. They graciously allowed us to sit in so about 8 of us joined with around 10 other people for a totally brilliant performance by Carol and then chatted to her afterwards. Pure magic!

Leave a Reply

