Posted on

Chicken Liver Risotto

Today I am handing over the blog to the lovely Lucy Smee.  Now that Pigeon Lips has scarpered, Lucy is my new desk mate at work.  She happened to ask me if I had any suggestions for the liver in her freezer and I immediately thought of Vincent’s recipe.  I haven’t tried it myself but Lucy has delivered a full and frank report.  How lovely!  I meanwhile am sitting by my gas fire, drinking beer and watching “Escape From the Planet of the Apes”.

Lucy’s report:

Extremely easy to prepare and cook.  I love risottos! Only one pot to wash up.  And not much chopping, only an onion, the bacon and liver.  Super quick! My helper didn’t even finish his glass of wine while we were cooking it.

I am aware that this recipe may not be for everyone as liver is not a hugely popular ingredient.  However, I really recommend trying it as it was DELICIOUS (I do adore liver).  I love liver so much that my worry before we started was that the liver would overcook – however it did not and was still all nice and melty.  It was really, really tasty; I think because the saltiness of the stock and cheese brought out even more delicious liver flavour! Mmmmm, liver.  I didn’t add any salt either because of the stock and cheese, just lots of pepper.  Perhaps if I did it again (perhaps? I definitely will!) I would add some kind of herb such as parsley.

The other good thing is that apart from the rice and cheese all the ingredients are pretty cheap – especially liver.  I got a big box of chicken livers for only £1.  £1! What other sources of protein give you that much value for money I ask you.  And the next time you make it you’ll already have the rice and cheese from last time so you know, this gets the Smee austerity plan tick of approval.

I ended up with about 3 portions, and I’m looking forward to my leftovers tonight! Martin wanted to scoff them as well last night but I wouldn’t let him.  He made a sad face.

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise.  Thanks Lucy!  That was ace.  If anyone else fancies writing a guest post about a Vincent Price recipe just let me know.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

4 responses to “Chicken Liver Risotto

  1. Loula ⋅

    Sadly I’m not a liver lover but I do appreciate the simplicity of this dish. Might Vinnie have a similar simple sort?

    • Darling! Hello ducks. There is a recipe in The Treasury of Great Recipes for “Risotto Alla Milanese” which I could send over? There is also “Riz Pilaf a la Valencienne” both of which contain no liver! In fact, they are both veggie friendly if you use veg stock instead of chicken… Email me to remind me to send them to you choochie face!

  2. Too bad I still haven’t found a copy of Cooking Price-Wise! Both Paul and I are liver fans (especially Paul!).

  3. I’ll send you the recipe when I get around to the Bette Davis marmalade Lauren! Once the tax return is done… I’ve had a search out for another copy of Cooking Price-Wise for AGES. Rare as hen’s teeth it seems… Vincent was obviously a liver fan himself. I think there might be a couple of liver recipes in Price-Wise. Will investigate!

Leave a Reply

