Posted on

Pots De Creme Chocolat (Individual Chocolate Mousse)

Coo what a rotten picture!  I am hoping there is going to be an improvement in my photographs from now on as I have just started a one month “Food Photography for Bloggers” course.  Here’s a picture for my first assignment:

Moody eh?!  That apple has become my closest friend.  I have taken about 250 photos of it in the last couple of days…

Talking of friends, I had a funny night last night with Gordon.  Seems strange that he’s known me for long enough that when I squealed, “I can’t stop sneezing, bring me Lord Todd Wadley!” he knew exactly what I meant.

The pair of them were in a very cheeky mood and there was much mucking about.  Despite everything that happened between me and Gordon, in retrospect I am sort of pleased he dumped me so unceremoniously in 2006.  I don’t think there would have been a Silver Screen Suppers and therefore no Vincentennial Cookblog either if he hadn’t done that.  So hurrah for heartache.  Sometimes.

i got pretty stinko and forgot all about the chocolate mousse I had made, but it is in the freezer so I’ll have some with Charlie on Wednesday unless I get stinko and forget about it then too.  Charlie is coming round and cooking my dinner for me which I LOVE.

I’ve been wanting to try this recipe for ages because although the previous owner of my copy of The Treasury really looked after it and didn’t scribble any notes in it, there is a big CHOCOLATEY fingerprint on the page for this recipe, so I know they must have made it at least once.

There is a good slug of Sailor Jerry rum in there so it should be good.

Recipe from: The Treasury of Great Recipes.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

5 responses to “Pots De Creme Chocolat (Individual Chocolate Mousse)

  1. Update: Vincent’s mousse is probably the most delicious mousse ever made. Utterly divine. Freezes perfectly in little individual pots. Am tempted to ALWAYS have some of these in my freezer. YUM.

  2. I’ve looked longingly at this recipe several times, but I haven’t made it yet. Sounds wonderful.

    I’m interested in this Food Photography for Bloggers course that you’re taking. I could use some help, too!

  3. Do it! Absolutely divine. Easy and perfect.

    Your photos are always great. I love the ones you take on your phone and vintage-up! My phone is so old it doesn’t even take pictures, let alone make them look like they were taken in the glorious past!

    This is the course I am doing: http://www.ppsop.com/fblo.aspx – they have another food photography course but this one is good as it is specifically for bloggers so not mega-technical as the other might be. More for professional photographers I think.

  4. Annice Laws ⋅

    But where is the actual recipe? I can’t find a link to it here. I was given a recipe for Chocolate Pots de Creme by Vincent Price himself, but now I can’t find it. I’ve been searching the internet but all of the recipes that are coming back are not the VP one. I’d like to see if this is it. Where is the list of ingredients and instructions?

    • Hi Annice – I’m happy to type up and send you the pots au chocolat recipe. I’m afraid I didn’t have time to type up every recipe I tried – I’d never get to work! I’d love to hear how you were given the recipe by Vincent Price himself – that must be a great story.

Leave a Reply

