Posted on

Gateau Grand Marnier

My second birthday cake of the week.  I decided to play it safe after the epic fail of the gooey apple cake so I made something I have made before.  I made it for Rumjam’s birthday celebration today at work.  James Rumsey is one of my favourite men ever.  It was a pleasure to make him a cake and see him stuffing his face with it!

I have to dash.  I’m going to Heather’s for the annual “Review of the Year” dinner and she has made a “Fred West Pie” – so called because it looks like a sackful of body parts.  She has REFUSED to tell me what is in it but sent me this awesome photo.

KERRIST!

I am most looking forward to the following traditional review of the year categories: “Who made you cry last year” (in sharp contrasts to most years this year I can proudly say “nobody”) and “New Pursuits” – this will no doubt lead us to get out the hoover attachment known as “gunny” and re-enact our Budapest gun frenzy.

Recipe (for the cake, not the enormous pie) from: The Treasury of Great Recipes

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

2 responses to “Gateau Grand Marnier

  1. I definitely need to try the Gateau Grand Marnier–definitely one of my favorite liqueurs. Let us know what’s in that enormous pie!

  2. It is a GOOD, GOOD cake! In the megapie were sausages and stuffing. It was DELICIOUS! We have decided to make the Review Of the Year Pie part of our annual tradition. My turn next year and am already thinking about what ODD things I could put in a pie…

Leave a Reply

