Posted on

Aeblekage (Danish Apple Cake)

Behold the splendour of Caterina’s birthday cake.  I admit, it was a bit of an epic fail but as Jessie wisely said, there is no point in just having a “fail”, you should always have an “epic fail”.  Oh yes, it looks very jolly with its plastic flowers, candles and miniature “celebration glasses” which Sloman kindly filled with desert wine, but it is not a cake as we know it.

While it was in the oven it I was wondering how something made predominantly of pureed stewed apples was going to set.  Perhaps the pectin did something magical when mixed with breadcrumbs and cinnammon?  Nope.  It was like a pudding in the shape of a cake.  It did taste nice but as Sloman put it, “it needs eggs, flour and sugar.”

We had a lovely night though.  Jessie and I played a dance challenge on the wii (I did my MC Hammertime routine) and Cathy, Sloman and I chewed the fat until late.  What a husband that Sloman is.  You’ll never guess what he bought his lovely wife for Christmas?  Only a copy of Vincent and Mary’s “The Treasury of Great Recipes”!

Recipe from: The Treasury of Great Recipes.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

2 responses to “Aeblekage (Danish Apple Cake)

  1. Sloman sounds like a great husband! I’m actually posting a recipe from the Treasury tomorrow.

    Sorry the Danish Apple Cake didn’t quite work out. I haven’t attempted that recipe yet. Is your MC Hammer routine going to find its way to YouTube? 😉

    • Ha ha! Maybe I will get someone to film me doing m MC Hammer dance. There is a film of me out there somewhere of me doing my Joan Jett impersonation…. Will keep my eyes peeled for your Treasury recipe – I’m dying to see which one you have chosen…

Leave a Reply

