Posted on

Carrot Soup

Lovely impromptu dinner with my film-maker chum James Rumsey last night.  I got home from my folks earlier than expected and was in the mood for cooking so I made Lamb Casserole (see following post) and this carrot soup which was just yummy.  I think the secret ingredient was the tomatoes which gave it a depth of flavour.  I was pleased to see that I had everything I needed for the recipe hanging around the place (unusual) except tomato juice.  But then I remembered that I DID have some Big Tom which I used and I think this gave the soup some ZING.  Will do the same if I make it again.

James & I talked about our creative plans for 2012 and it was good to ponder the dilemma of which project to focus on.  Always a conundrum.  But I think my focus for 2012 will be putting together a collection of adaptations of Vincent’s recipes.  I really think that they are SO GOOD they should be enjoyed by other cooks.  So I’m planning to standardise 50 or so of the recipes and include metric measurements for all the European cooks who have no truck with American cups.

I’m excited…

Recipe from:  Come Into the Kitchen Cookbook.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

Leave a Reply

