Posted on

Roast Turkey Wayside Inn

Oh I was pleased with my turkey!  I cooked Christmas Dinner for three yesterday and it was a lot of work but SO worth it.  Turkey was yummy (especially the stuffing) and I did all the trimmings.  As soon as I get out of bed I’ll be rustling up some bubble and squeak with all the leftover veggies and making Roland Young Rissoles (as per tradition) with the leftover turkey.  Mmm – how I do love my leftovers!

We had loads of fun.  Here is a pic of me and Corinna by my mini Christmas tree (like my nan, I kept my pinny on ALL DAY)

Vic invented a new dance:

And we had Linzer Augen and Vanillekipfert made by Corinna and some mince pies made with Vincent’s pastry:

Ah, what a lovely day.

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.  I did follow Delia’s timings for the turkey rather than Vincent’s but if I make this again I’m going to time it as per the great man.  I chickened out of making the gravy from the giblets too.  If I have a helper next year I might attempt it.   A bit too much to juggle on my lonesome…

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

2 responses to “Roast Turkey Wayside Inn

  1. Pingback: Joan Crawford’s Salami Canapes | Silver Screen Suppers

  2. Lauren

    Everything looks fabulous. I’m very impressed. You definitely need to try giblet gravy next time! Yum. It’s a must-have at Thanksgiving. We only do the turkey dinner thing then. Christmas is usually something different (although a lot of Americans do pretty much the same dinner over again). I wanted a goose, but Paul hasn’t shot one and D’Artagnan wants $154.99. Eeeek!

Leave a Reply

