Posted on

Wayside Country Sausage

Oh ho!  There is a new breakfast fodder on the block.  Yum yum yum to Vincent’s sausage patties.  I’ve made the Wayside Country Sausage which is the first step to making the Wayside Bread Stuffing for my “Roast Turkey Wayside Inn” for tomorrow.  It will be Christmas Day in the Palace of Solitude and for the first time ever I will cook a whole Christmas Dinner – eek!

The turkey is in the fridge.  I have brussels sprouts, parsnips, carrots, redcurrant jelly, home-made mincemeat, the wherewithall for pastry, gravy, cocktail sausages wrapped in bacon, Joan Crawford salami canapes, a cheeseboard etc.etc.etc.  We are going to be STUFFED.

I’ve been tidying up and fancifying.  I am VERY excited.  I’ve also been practicing my festive paper tearing act.  I may do it 3 times this year.  Once for Vic and Corinna tomorrow, once for work chums and if we manage to meet before the 25th, once for Charlie.  I’ve been rehearsing a new version for him as I secured a David Rose LP at Audio Gold today.  I’ve been looking for David Rose on 78rpm with no luck, and there was a whole LP of the fabulousness for just £7.  Whoopee. Alas, mine does not have this particular cover, but it’s rather fabulous don’t you think?!

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.  The Wayside Inn, South Sudbury, Mass. still exists – whoop whoop!  In 1963 according to the menu printed in the Treasury,  a serving of Roast Stuffed Massachusetts Turkey was $4.  The 2011 Thanksgiving menu was $36 for 3 courses including turkey.  I am making a pilgrimage!

P.S.  I saw the ladybird again.  It appears to be living on my lounge lampshade.  Very cute.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

2 responses to “Wayside Country Sausage

  1. Lauren

    Depending on the flight, you could get to Sudbury, MA before I could! $36 for a three-course Thanksgiving dinner is a pretty amazing price. I’ll have to look up the Wayside Country Sausage recipe. And perhaps play “The Stripper” while frying it up? 🙂

  2. Ha ha – you paint a pretty picture! I put what was left of my Wayside Country Sausage mixture in the freezer without labelling it. This is a bad habit I must get out of. I took it to work a couple of days later thinking it was SOUP. Since Santa brought me a brand new freezer (photo coming soon) I shall be more organised in future…

Leave a Reply

