Posted on

Pastry

I am VERY excited about my day tomorrow – DJing all day in Audio Gold.  It is going to be SO MUCH FUN.  I’ve made some mince pies to take with me.  I used the recipe for pastry that Vincent proposes for the Apple Tart in A Treasury of Great Recipes as it is the best pastry I have ever made.  There is CIDER and RUM in the mincemeat which I made to my mum’s recipe.  She sent it to me all handwritten in the post – lovely.

Am shattered today after going to a party with my gorgeous friend Ptolemy.  Yes, a party!  A good old fashioned party.  It was a “Sagitarrian’s Masked Beasts Ball” and there really were some wonderful masks.  One of the funniest sights was watching two strangers gravitate towards each other as they were the only people there with penguin masks on.  Very weird to watch them chatting away to each other, their beaks bobbing about…

Ptolemy made a wonderful “bird of paradise” mask

and I went down the comedy route:

We had loads of fun and had a great day today mooching around Crouch End.  Pretty rare for either of us to not be slogging away at the loom / computer all day at the weekends so we really enjoyed ourselves.

Before the party we met for cocktails at Callouh Callay which we both loved.  The bar staff were so friendly and MAN do they know how to make cocktails.  We had what we both agreed were the best martinis we’d had in a very long time.  We have vowed to spend one evening a month dolled up to the nines drinking cocktails in some louche establishment.  Sounds like a plan…

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

3 responses to “Pastry

  1. Lauren

    Oooh mince pies! I’m going to have to make some again this year. I was lazy last year and didn’t make any, but they’re so darn tasty and Paul loves them, too. I’ll have to try Vincent’s pastry recipe. I wonder how long mincemeat keeps? I’ve got a jar from 2009…

    The masked ball sounds like a blast!

  2. I think mincemeat probably lasts forever, especially if it has loads of booze in it!

  3. Matthew

    Happy birthday, you!
    I could only find your work address, so you won’t get the card until Monday, but have fun with your gun!

Leave a Reply

