Posted on

Breast of Chicken au Champagne

My handyman Heather came round tonight armed with a large hairdryer to defrost my freezer.  She likes nothing better than chipping off huge shards of ice and chucking them right across the kitchen into the sink almost slicing my arm in two and laughing like a hyena while she does it.

She also helped me put up some velvet curtains in my bedroom which I am hoping will make it feel less like Siberia in here this winter.  They look mighty fine.  I keep looking at them, they are so lovely.  I am a lucky, lucky woman to have such friends.  I know for a fact that those curtains would have sat there on the arm of the sofa until about June if Heather hadn’t come over.

There were 3 portions of Vincent’s chicken in the freezer which had held up very well to the freezing process.  We drank a bottle of Champagne WITH the Champagne chicken, it seemed appropriate.  It was VERY nice to have someone to celebrate with as I reached 50,000 words of my NaNoWriMo novel yesterday…   It’s a right old dog’s dinner but it was SO MUCH FUN to do.

I have a new pet.  A ladybird at this time of year?

It’s been an odd day of many texts today.  I guess there was some kind of rift in the universe on Saturday that I didn’t realise would have so many repercussions.  I was just having fun and being open to new possibilities.  Sometimes friends who have been in long, long, long relationships don’t understand that people just come and go in the life of a spinster.  Nothing is permanent, nothing is precious, nothing is huge.  It is just flotsam and jetsam.  Very nice flotsam and jetsam most of the time but it aint the Titanic.  No need for drama.  Nothing is sinking.  There are no scary icebergs.

It’s as calm as a milk pond out there, there is no need to panic.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

2 responses to “Breast of Chicken au Champagne

  1. Lauren

    Looks like there might just be some scary icebergs–in your freezer! We have a frost-free unit, so no defrosting for us, thank goodness.

    Does seem kind of late for ladybugs, but I found one in our house a couple of weeks ago, so maybe not! Perhaps your new curtains made your house so hospitable she couldn’t resist?

    Congrats on reaching 50,000 words–that definitely deserves champagne.

  2. Yep, was like Antarctica in that freezer! I am hatching a plan to buy a stand alone freezer to go under my kitchen worktop as the one that I have on top of the fridge is TEENY and with all this cooking I’m doing it would make a lot of sense to have more freezer space. Even more fun for Heather to defrost.

    I am very proud of my 50,000 words. Would probably be better if they were 50,000 words of a higher caliber but they are MY words!

Leave a Reply

