Posted on

Fillets de Sole au Vermouth

I do not usually covet my neighbour’s goods but Cathy’s Johnson Brothers fishy dinner service is just about the most splendid set of crockery in the world IMHO.  She not only has a beautiful serving platter, seen here, and loads of different plates, but she has the rare as hens teeth sauce jug, demonstrated here by Mr Sloman.

I think this dish was just about the most delicious thing I have EVER made.  Probably due to the insane amount of butter in the sauce, the proper fish stock and the awesome Dover Sole I bought from the divine Walter Purkis fishmongers.  Mr Sloman, who is a hard man to please in the food department called this dinner, “an utter triumph”.  I was really, really chuffed.

I had a TERRIFIC hangover next day.  It blame the fact that all three courses had booze in them.  Cathy made a pear, walnut and stilton salad – the pears had been poached in red wine, vermouth in the fish sauce and Grand Marnier Gateau.  I was still holding the back of my head in a gay karaeoke bar in Brighton at 10pm.

My blind date was an incredibly good sport.  I wouldn’t normally introduce someone to my chums the first time I met them but there were extenuating circumstances.  The fact that a few hours after meeting me he was on stage beside a DJ in drag singing, “I Got a Brand New Combine Harvester” was quite frankly bizarre.  In the words of the Wurzels, “that made I laugh, ha ha!”

Recipe from: The Treasury of Great Recipes.  I think the Boule d’Or was a hotel restaurant in Beaune that no longer exists.  Mind you, it could be this place – warning, crazy music on this website…

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

Leave a Reply

