Posted on

Tagliatelle Verdi Gratinate al Prosciutto (Green Noodle Casserole with Prosciutto)

I didn’t want to leave Wales.  It’s my spiritual home.  And beer is £2.50 a pint!  I had to make myself some comfort food tonight to make myself feel better.  Vincent’s Tagliatelle dish hit the spot.

The Abertoir Horror Film Festival was just superb.  I needn’t have worried about going alone, Gaz the festival director was so welcoming and friendly and I got to hang out with the festival crowd until the wee small hours every night.  I found so many fabulous festivalgoers to chat to in the bar between flms and the GORE!  Oh my word, it’s a long time since I’ve seen a horror film and in “Brutal Relax” I saw more blood and guts and green slime than I’ve seen in a lifetime.  I laughed my socks off.  It really tickled me.  Sick.  Only for those with a strong stomach – especially on the big screen…  Death and destruction to the sea zombies.

I had so much fun both at the festival and mooching around Aber.  I played “Dance Stage” all by myself on the pier every day – the only song I knew was Rappers Delight by the Sugarhill Gang and I must have looked pretty bonkers dancing by myself and cackling like a batty old buzzard.

I scored some excellent bargains in the charity shops including these three beauties for the grand total of £1.50 – perfect for G&Ts:

But the highlight of the weekend was meeting Victoria Price.  Her presentation about her father’s life and work was just fascinating and I loved her point about her parents, “they were collectors of experiences”, yes indeed.  That’s what the Treasury is all about really, experiences.  She talked so fondly about how her father was always curious about things, always learning, always open to new things.  She said that’s how she was living her life and I’m going to do the same.  When I told her about what I was doing here on the blog she said, “you ROCK!” I nearly cracked my face open with the smiling!  And she signed my Vincent Price T-shirt “Keep cooking!  Victoria Price.”

I sincerely hope that if Victoria Price should ever drop by, she’ll like what I’m doing here because I truly believe that Vincent and Mary did a brilliant thing when they created The Treasury of Great Recipes.  Although I love all the other books, recordings and TV shows Vincent was involved in, The Treasury is my great passion.  If I had the money I’d buy one for Gaz as a thank-you gift for fixing it for me to meet the daughter of my idol.  He sure made a great job of Vincent’s Brown and White Cookies too!

Recipe from: The Treasury of Great Recipes.  Vincent and Mary obtained this recipe from Harry’s Bar in Venice – still going strong!

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

Leave a Reply

