Posted on

Abertoir Horror Film Festival – Cucumber Crocodiles Recipe

It’s my last chance to post before I head off to Aberystwyth to the Abertoir Horror Film Festival.  I have an article in the festival brochure about Vincent Price and his wonderful culinary adventures and I promised the cucumber crocodile recipe to all visitors to the Vincentennial Cookblog.  It follows.  Can’t wait to meet Gaz who runs the festival and lots of other Vincent Price fans.  Victoria Price is the guest of honour and I’m really hoping I might meet her too…

Before the recipe, I must correct an error in the article.  I mentioned the fact that Vincent and Mary enjoyed having Friday Night Chicken in what Vincent referred to as their “mobile home”.  I said that in England this would be known as a caravan.  But since I’ve been reading Victoria Price’s wonderful biography of her father I realise that the mobile home was somewhat grander than a caravan. It was, in fact a Clark Cortez!

I doubt very much if we had anything like this in Britain in 1965 when the Treasury of Great Recipes came out!

So here, especially for Abertoir festival-goers and all other folks who fancy rustling up a cucumber crocodile is Vincent’s recipe.

1 cucumber

Few blanched almonds

4 strips green pepper

Cubes of cheddar cheese

Garnishes:

Cocktail cherries, Olives, Gherkins, Coloured cocktail onions, etc.

Choose a cucumber that is suitably curved.  Split broad end of cucumber lengthwise for 2-3 inches to form the mouth and prop open with a small cocktail stick.  Press a few pieces of blanched almonds for the teeth.  Arrange two slices of stuffed olives for the eyes.  Shape strips of green pepper into legs with a sharp knife and secure in place at sides of cucumber with small cocktail sticks.

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise – NB – I dye little batches of cocktail onions with red, yellow and green dye (as you will see from my stained fingers in the following photograph).  I also use cocktail sticks for teeth instead of almonds – I don’t think Vincent would mind….

I am kissing the crocodile…

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

3 responses to “Abertoir Horror Film Festival – Cucumber Crocodiles Recipe

  1. Hi Jenny! Great to see you at the festival, wasn’t Victoria amazing! 🙂 Thanks so much for coming all the way, make sure you get back here next year though!

  2. Gaz! Your festival was AMAZING! Even though I was there on my lonesome I met so many friendly lovely people, I felt so at home in Aberystwyth and I can’t BELIEVE I have to go home. Saw some brilliant films, will definitely come again next year – with a POSSE! Am going to write a proper post about meeting Victoria, I was so thrilled. She really was so lovely and I’m going to do as she suggested – live my life more like Vincent! Thanks for a wonderful weekend. Can you send me the photo of me and Victoria sometime? I bet my smile is nearly cracking my head apart! JX

  3. This is the best thing ever.
    God bless Vincent Price.

Leave a Reply

