Posted on

Potato and Fish Chowder

The first of my guest cooks – the lovely Corinna – made me dinner!  I am submerged in NaNoWriMo this month and trying not to use cooking as a means of procrastination.  In order to keep the Vincentennial Cookblog project going I’ve asked a few friends if they’d like to cook a Vincent Price dish for me (smart eh?) and Corinna was first to step up to the plate!

She made this utterly delicious chowder in her fabulous Austrian cooking pot.  As we are both big fans of the decorated enamel cooking pots Vincent uses on the television show Cooking Price-Wise we know he would have approved of Corinna’s pot.

We had some doubts that Vincent’s specified amount of liquid would be enough but we should know by now not to doubt Mr Price – the chowder was just perfect. Really, really tasty.

We had a lovely watercress salad to accompany it and my favourite bit of the evening, as it always is when I have dinner with Corinna ,was the ritual of her picking up the salad bowl and drinking all the left over dressing.  It’s tradition!

For pudding we had Jimmy Cagney’s Apple Cheese Pie which I will write about over at Silver Screen Suppers.  I’ve never had cheese in an apple pie and I didn’t last night either because I forgot to put it in!

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

One response to “Potato and Fish Chowder

  1. Pingback: Jimmy Cagney’s Apple (Cheese) Pie | Silver Screen Suppers

Leave a Reply

