Posted on

Crostata Di Mele (Apple Tart)

I was going to make an Apple Tart for Obi’s birthday but circumstances conspired against me.  I’d made the pastry before I realised that my tart pan is somewhere out the back at Audio Gold so I went with the back up plan of Lauren Hairston’s delicious Marguerite d”Anjou Pear Cake instead.  Oooooooooooh it was good, here’s a picture.

So today I made four individual apple tarts to Vincent’s recipe so as not to have the pastry go to waste.  I’ll take them to my folks tomorrow as I’m off to see them.  Thank goodness the clocks go back tonight.  It gives me a fighting chance of not being horrifically late getting there.

I have had an odd day today.  Been thinking about an ex for various reasons.  Not least because I had a small part in a friend’s “Dear John” film.  I spent the afternoon playing a doctor working with a group of battered women.  When I had to say the following line direct to camera the irony was not lost on me, “Love and abuse do not belong in the same house.”

It brought a tear to my glass eye.

My favourite moment was when Jan found out that one of the actresses due to play a victim of domestic abuse had chickened out.  As she was rushing off to do a scene she shouted to the make-up artist, “Emma, give yourself a broken nose please!’  Ha ha – I love that woman!

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

3 responses to “Crostata Di Mele (Apple Tart)

  1. And dear Jenny, I love being on the same menu as you and Apple Tart. Jan x

  2. Baard ⋅

    Could you post the Crostata Di Mele recipe please. The picture looks great, so I would love to make it.

Leave a Reply

