Posted on

Potatoes Scalloped With Ham

I’ve been plunged into adulthood this week.  Reminders of mortality have been everywhere around me.  A friend who is battling what Will Self refers to as “the crab”, my dad having to stay overnight in hospital because of an irregular heartbeat, and my own emotional meltdown on Friday which has all served to remind me that I’m not a teenager any more.  It’s time to grow up a bit and face up to my responsibilities.  Thank goodness for housework.  It’s taking my mind off it all at least for a few minutes here and there.

I’m getting my mental and physical house in order for NaNoWriMo in November.  I’m going to put my shelves up, do the “winter/summer clothes swap” and clean like a woman possessed.  Chores will only be distractions waiting to scupper my concentration if I continue to procrastinate until November.

For my mental health tonight I will watch Gone With the Wind which is my traditional emotional cleanser.

I shall sit on the sofa with a large glass of wine (normal rules about no drinking alone in the Palace of Solitude don’t apply in this situation) and a big box of tissues.  A cathartic cry is just what I need and I will be reborn tomorrow a happier, saner individual with a flat that doesn’t look like a lunatic lives in it.

“Tomorrow is another day” after all…

Recipe from: Come Into the Kitchen Cookbook.  This was mostly an exercise in frugality as there were potatoes and ham to use up.  Was tasty though…

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

2 responses to “Potatoes Scalloped With Ham

  1. Lauren

    I hope your dad is feeling better. Hospital stays are always worrying! I hate the tangible reminders of people we love getting older.

    Thank goodness for not being a teenager anymore, right? I wouldn’t go back to high school if somebody paid me 10 million dollars.

    Will you be in cloister-like seclusion for NaNoWriMo or will I still see you around the interwebs?

  2. Thanks Lauren, my dad is much better and I’m off up to Suffolk tomorrow to visit.

    Oh, I would DEFINITELY go back to being a teenager for 10 million dollars. Think how many cucumber crocodiles I could create with all that money. They would take over the world!

    I’m going to try and hibernate a bit in November but you’ll see me around the interweb for sure. I’ll need SOME distractions!

Leave a Reply

