Posted on

Chicken Curry

I knew I’d need sustenance to get myself through the second half of Gone With The Wind, when Scarlett has gone to hell and back and then things get even worse.  Vincent’s Curry was very good.  Not very spicy it is true but tasty.  I only had peanuts (a bit ancient), dessicated coconut (brand new) and sultanas (traditional element of school dinner curries) so these were my accompaniments.

I have more or less drunk the house dry.  Feels like part of the preparations for the hibernation period of November.  I will try my best not to booze it up while I’m trying to write.  I’m going to have a look in the cocktail cabinet to see what else I need to get rid of.  I think there is some cognac in there…

While I was cooking the curry Radio 2 was very kind to me, exactly matching my cooking time was a programme about Irving Berlin.  Heavenly.  My favourite was Ethel Merman singing, “You Can’t Get a Man With a Gun”.  Maybe there’s a lesson there in those lyrics for me:

The gals with “umbrellars”
Are always out with fellers
In the rain or the blazing sun
But a man never trifles
With gals who carry rifles

Oh you can’t get a man with a gun.

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.  Vincent and Mary obtained this recipe from the chef of the Pierre Grill in New York.  Thank goodness, the Pierre Hotel still exists and it all looks very lovely although it doesn’t look as though it’s the same as it was in 1965.  Vincent describes how the chef ” sends his fragrant curries out into the Grill in an exotic wagon which wouldn’t look amiss perched on top of an elephant”.  Looks as though these days, the hotel hosts the New York version of London’s eaterie Le Caprice.

 

PS – I almost forgot.  I am reading Victoria Price’s excellent biography of her father and I recently read that Vincent was considered for the part of ASHLEY.  Omigawd – imagine how much more fanciable he would have made the character than Leslie Howard!

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

2 responses to “Chicken Curry

  1. Lauren

    You CAN get a man with a gun–you just might have to do some time…

    I had no idea that Vincent Price was considered for Ashley. Such an ultimately thankless role! I didn’t like the character much in the movie or the book. I usually like Leslie Howard, though.

  2. Yep, me too. Could never really see what Scarlett saw in Ashley but that is part of the point I suppose.

    Vincent said that he thought he didn’t get the part because when he met Cukor, Cukor thought he was putting on the Southern accent – whereas it was really his accent… He said, “I didn’t get the part of course. I wish I had. I think I would have been better than Leslie Howard, because I never thought he was anything but English. He was just wrong. Everyone else was perfect… Gable, Olivia de Havilland and Vivien Leigh. It would have been fun.”

    Yep, Vincent would have made a fantastic Ashley. Definitely.

Leave a Reply

