Posted on

Hotchpotch of Curly Kale

Hmm, not very photogenic but actually very tasty.  I’ve been craving vegetables for ages as I have been away in Hungary for 4 days where I ate a lot of goose, cheese, bread, pork and potatoes and nothing green that I can remember.   I was on my annual “romantic mini-break” with Heather  – when we were both single we got fed up with friends with boyfriends going on them so took ourselves off together instead and it has become an annual tradition.  This time we took 4 ladies with us to experience the splendour of The Gellert Hotel and Spa.

Oh it was so lovely.  Swimming in an outdoor pool between our double breakfasts, soaking in a hot pool in the nood with lots of splendid elderly Hungarian ladies, perspiring in the steam rooms then jumping in the freezing cold plunge pools, doing aqua-aerobics with a very stern trainer, gossiping with all the ladies non-stop and drinking beer in our towelling dressing gowns in the splendour of the atrium.  Wonderful.  This year I didn’t avail myself of a massage as I spent all my money at the firing range.

Twas a most relaxing mini-break.

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.  Vincent doesn’t specify where he obtained this one.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

2 responses to “Hotchpotch of Curly Kale

  1. Lauren

    That photo of you at the gun range is a keeper! I’ve been twice, but have only shot pistols. The first time, I shot a .22 and that was OK but still a little scary, but after the second time with a 9mm, I haven’t been back (and that was two years ago). Turns out, it’s not a good idea to wear a scoopneck top to the gun range. I burned one of my breasts with an ejected shell casing, freaked out and forgot to put the gun down before I freaked out, so I might have accidentally shot my husband. Such a disaster. I’m just going to hope I don’t ever need to use one again!

    I’m glad you enjoyed your break–I’d love to go to Budapest! Sounds much more exciting than Dallas!

  2. oooooooooooh my goodness! ooooh that sounds very scary! Scoopnecked tops and guns – only in the movies!

Leave a Reply

