Posted on

Crostata Di Mele (Apple Tart)

Charlie came round last night and cooked me an absolutely delicious dinner.  What a treat to have him do that for me, it was sooooooo gorgeous.  He sure is a man who knows how to cook fish and he arrived with 2 massive slabs of HALIBUT.  We decided one would be enough for two and so it was.  Walter Purkis & Co did us proud.

I can say hand on heart that Charlie’s fish dish was the most delicious fish I’ve ever eaten.  Halibut is my new obsession.  It was a Brian Turner recipe that had a breadcrumb and mushroom crust and a scrumptious cream sauce.  Oh yes, and Charlie grated nutmeg into the vegetables which is something I will COPY.  There were also perfect garlicky roast potatoes.  SWOON.   Here is a pretty rubbish photo of what was a superb dinner.

I made Vincent’s Apple Tart for dessert and despite my concerns about the method of making the pastry it was ACE.  I was very pleased with the whole shebang.  I should never doubt Vincent.

And now, I must dash as I’m off to Budapest – whoopeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!  You will find me submerged in warm water here for FOUR DAYS.

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.  Vincent doesn’t say where he obtained this perfect recipe for Apple Tart but it is in the section about Venice…  My apples were a gift from Cathy and came from Brogdale Farm – delicious.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

Leave a Reply

