Posted on

Asparagus Vinaigrette

Yes, my asparagus WERE looking limp and sad in the fridge when I got back from my brilliant weekend away with Jane & Trix at the Women’s Institute Real Jam Festival.  We had a truly amazing time amongst lots of wonderful people, it was an inspiring, funny, joyful, creative and informative two days.  I learned a LOT about jam!  And other things too as there were some brilliant cookery demonstrations.

I’m going to write much more about it all tomorrow over at the Silver Screen Suppers blog but for now, here’s a picture of a dish that was demonstrated for us by Dhruv Baker – Ballotine of Spiced Confit Duck with Plum Sauce.

I think that is the best food photograph I have ever taken – and typical it is of someone else’s food!  I guess it might have something to do with the brilliant food styling and the genius column of meat – now I know how this is done I REALLY want to try it.   I noticed in the brochure for Denham College (the beautiful place where the festival was held) there is a food writing and photography course in May.  I’m saving up!

We were absolutely THRILLED that our jar of Gloria Swanson’s Bar-Le-Duc jam came second in its class.  In fact it got the same points as the winner – 17/20 – but we were penalized as our jar was too small.  To be honest, when you have spent 5 hours picking pips out of redcurrants with goose quills – that jam is precious!  I was actually surprised we weren’t disqualified because we didn’t meet the regulation size for the jar but everyone was SO LOVELY they let us off!

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.  The asparagus was indeed perked up by the delicious vinaigrette.

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

One response to “Asparagus Vinaigrette

  1. Lauren

    The food writing and photography course sounds like fun! And what a cute location! Congrats again on your prize!

Leave a Reply

