Posted on

Asparagus Milanese

Aint that a pretty picture?  Vincent didn’t suggest serving it like this but I was in a frivolous mood.  Very nice it was too.

After work this evening I had a quick cocktail with Elinor at Bourne & Hollingsworth, my current favourite drinking establishment.  I took along a copy of “A Treasury of Great Recipes” to show her and she was very taken with it. She said that the cover looked like a “coffee and chocolate parfait” and indeed it does.  It is so squishy and cushion-y and lovely.

I love this composite picture from YesterYearsGoodies and of course agree that it is “one of the most elegant cookbooks of all time!”  It is keeping me entertained almost every single day!

For those of you that frequent the Silver Screen Suppers blog, just thought I would post this picture of a halibut.  Oh my good gawd!

This month’s recipe of the month is for Bette Davis’ Creamed Halibut with Boiled Onions.  I wonder how many this would serve?

Recipe from:  A Treasury of Great Recipes.  Sardi’s – thank goodness – is still going strong but I couldn’t see Asparagus Milanese on the menu they have online.  But I reckon they would rustle it up if I ever make it over to NYC and order it in advance…

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

One response to “Asparagus Milanese

  1. Lauren

    That halibut is scary! Don’t let it loose around children or pets! Or, frankly, around me.

    A Treasury of Great Recipes really is totally totally awesome. I’m proud as Punch of my copy, especially considering I got a first edition for $5 at a library foundation book sale! I was especially glad because the room was full of book dealers taking all the good stuff.

Leave a Reply

