Posted on

Grilled Tomatoes

Mmm – spinster’s Sunday brunch.  Yum yum – these were good, crispy topped grilled tomatoes.  I consider this extravagant amount of food a REWARD for all the cleaning I did yesterday.  We are in the middle of an amazing heatwave in England and I decided that I’d have a massive spring clean to prepare for a the winter that will surely arrive the minute the heatwave is over.  It is October, the Archers has only just finished and it is 23 degrees outside.  I should of course be out there, instead I’ll be inside all day finishing my Diana Dors article and continuing with the big clean.

I did something that I’ve been meaning to do ever since I moved in and that is, clean the dust off my front door…

When I moved in, the glass panels had cardboard carefully inserted so nobody could see inside.  My chum Alastair Hendy – who knows a thing or two about interior design – ripped them all out at my housewarming party!  I’m sure that my opposite neighbour occasionally gets an eyeful when I am wandering around in the buff but it’s much nicer to have the light coming in.  I love having my own front door and still, after a year and more, get a little thrill sometimes when I go in and close the door behind me.  The Palace of Solitude makes me very happy.  Especially when it is clean and tidy.  Even the kitchen windows!

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

2 responses to “Grilled Tomatoes

  1. Lauren

    I am terribly envious of your clean abode. Mine looks like a tornado came through.

    It’s so funny that in England 23 degrees celsius is a heat wave! We were a little warmer than that yesterday (80F) and everyone here was talking about how nice it was! Of course, after the absolutely brutal summer we had, anything would seem like a cold front! I, for one, am definitely ready for cooler weather. I really love it when the highs get down into the 60s!

    P.S. My duplex also has a lack of drapes, but it doesn’t seem to stop the occasional nakedness!

  2. Oh my word, you wouldn’t believe the obsessing over the weather that goes on here! It has been like ALIENS have landed and mucked around with our weather system. Everyone has been overjoyed at our good fortune. Chilly again today though so everyone is now being typically British about it and moaning again!

Leave a Reply

