Posted on

Peperoni Don Salvatore

Seems like ages since Charlie came round to dinner and I made these marinaded peppers for an appetizer.  They sure were tasty.  Anchovies – yes!  Worcestershire sauce – yes!  Garlic – yes!  I made portions for three as I happened to have 3 peppers in the fridge.  I had lots of the marinade left over and I think it will be delicious as a salad dressing.  We had a damn good fish pie too.  I can’t remember the last time I made fish pie but Autumn is here so I think I’ll make another soon.

Just back from Slomanstock – a festival to celebrate the life and times of Mr Sloman.  Soooooo much fun.  I DJd in the open air with two gramophones and my guitar amp “Big Red” – it sounded GREAT.  I loved seeing Andrea, Cathy and Becky grooving to my tunes and when Sloman took his wife for a quickstep around the fire-pit it made my day.  Later on Saturday night Angus & Clive did an amazing set wearing white coats and Mr Sloman masks.  They played five decades of great music including some songs I really love dancing to: Rock Lobster, Come Up and See Me, Ballroom Blitz…  So many awesome, fabulous tracks, I wanted to dance to everything…  I nearly killed myself laughing when I sat down for a rest about midnight and Garvie came over and did a lap dance for me.  A sight I don’t think I will ever forget.

I almost burst with pride when I won the airband competition with my rendition of Joan Jett’s “I Love Rock and Roll”, Cathy, Becky, LilyBelle and Jessie were my backing band “The Blackheads”.  I was in character throughout, being cool, chewing gum, giving one word answers to questions asked before my performance and when Sloman asked me how I felt winning the grand prize of two signed photographs of him I said: “Underwhelmed”.

To be honest, I thought Morty doing “The Boys Are Back in Town” with large earring, stick on tache and afro wig was genius.  And the boys doing “Ace of Spades” were superb.  One guy who was about 12 (I guess) was doing air guitar like a professional and at one point he lay down on the ground playing his air guitar.  Emma’s youngest, a super cute toddler was very perplexed by this and toddled over to him.  He broke off from his lying down guitar riffs to pat her on the head.   Such a cute moment that summed up the general feeling of love that everyone had for everyone – whatever age, whoever they were, whether you knew them or not.  That’s Slomanstock.

I hula hooped on the dance floor, I hula hooped under the moon.  Gilbert showed me an app on his phone that allowed you to hold it up to the sky and see the names of the stars.  I looked at Jupiter through Michael’s telescope.  I sat by the firepit and talked to new friends and old until 2am.  I slept in a teepee populated by slugs and spiders (both of which I like).  I saw a buzzard.  I drank cider, perry, local kent beer and red and white wine from boxes.  Thanks to Andrea I have returned with the wherewithall to make a Herman Friendship Cake (which I remember making a long, long, long time ago when I was a teenager).  I ate my own body weight in delicious food including a hog roast, madeira cake made by a Pierre Marco White chef, local sausages barbecued to a cinder which is just how I like them , aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarg  – TOO MUCH GOOD STUFF….

The campsite was ours and ours only.  I can only say wonderful things about this place – The Soul Camp – run by two great guys called Pete and Fergus.  A wonderful, magical place.  What a weekend.  How will I ever come down from the fresh air, intense friendships, new experiences high?  Cathy deserves a medal for coming up with the idea and seeing it through.  I know she had lots of help from Jessie, Wayne, Tracey, the Garvie girls and lots of other folk.  It was a really wonderful communal effort to make a wonderful private festival for a wonderful man.  A commemoration of him spending 50 years of doing very little very well.  Sloman and Cathy I salute you.

And now, because I can’t believe it is over I will order my second ever takeaway in the Palace of Solitude and watch a movie….

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.  The Blue Fox in San Fransisco where Vincent ate these peppers has bitten the dust.  Vincent – who really knew about these things – called it “One of the finest restaurants in a city of fine eating places”.  According to an article here – the restaurant closed in 1993.  The owner said, “When people go out now, they are not looking for a formal two-and-a-half-hour event.” Another victim of our fast food culture.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

3 responses to “Peperoni Don Salvatore

  1. Lauren

    Congrats on the airband competition–do I see another book in your future? Be an Airhead: How to Win Amateur Airband Competitions, by a Champion 😉 You’ll have to enlighten this American: who is Mr Sloman?

  2. Ha ha! Yes! Mr Sloman is the legend that lives round the corner from me. He’s been a friend for about 20 years and his lovely wife Cathy organised a private festival for his 50th birthday. It was amazing. He has a reputation for being a grumpy man but he didn’t stop smiling all weekend as he wandered around in his sarong and “It’s All About ME” T-shirt.

  3. Lauren

    I get it now! I thought perhaps Slomanstock was an annual festival celebrating some cerebral avant-garde painter with a predilection for air guitar or something like that! It sounded very official. 🙂

Leave a Reply

