Posted on

American Rice Salad

Orlando invited me to a barbecue yesterday out of the blue and one of the things we had was fruity coleslaw.  I’ve never had this before and I loved it.  We also had lots of sausages, pork medallions and marinaded chicken.  I was very, very greedy.  But that’s what eating in the open air does to me, yeehaw.  The sun wasn’t shining but we sat out on his balcony until the sun went down,  As he observed, “The English take their pleasures sadly”, yes, indeed we do.  Anyhow, the coleslaw put me in mind of Vincent’s American Rice Salad which has pineapple in.  The salad has a creamy mild curry dressing and it is fresh and lovely.

Orlando was making me laugh.  We share a similar taste in music and I was very pleased with myself when I identified some early Frank Sinatra recordings, before he had his highly recognisable vocal style.  I said that one particular song sounded very “Bing” and we talked about how Sinatra was very influenced by Crosby in his early days.  “Don’t tell me you prefer Bing to Sinatra…” said Orlando, and then looking at my open book face, very seriously and slightly sadly said, “You do don’t you?”  Ha ha, I have to be honest, I do.

Today I’m having a Diana Dors marathon.  I’ve been asked to write something on Diana’s fashion style for the bfi.  Can there be an assignment any more lovely?

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

4 responses to “American Rice Salad

  1. Matthew

    You mean there are people who DON’T prefer Bing to Sinatra???

  2. Lauren

    Fruity cole slaw sounds fabulous. I really like broccoli slaw that has golden raisins in it, but I’ve never made it.

    Lucky you–a Diana Dors marathon and it’s actually your job! Her movies aren’t that easy to get hold of in the United States, so I haven’t seen many, but she was terribly glamorous!

  3. OOh, broccoli slaw – mmmm I am going to check that out!

    Basically I am writing a piece about Diana’s fashions in 4 of her early films for a DVD release – it will go in the accompanying booklet. Do you have a DVD player that plays PAL? Once I have secured myself a copy of the brand new glossy DVD release, I could send you the review copies if you’d like. I can promise you some awesome frocks!

Leave a Reply

