Posted on

Stilton Cheese Slaw


Oooh a guilty pleasure after a rotten day.  Cheese coleslaw, two evils in one.  I have to admit, I forgot to buy Stilton so I used Red Leicester instead.  It is GOOD.  Even though I only made half the recipe there is tonnes left so I shall take it to Heather’s tomorrow for cocoa night.  She is working like a dog and we are planning an early night with a hot chocolate rather than our usual 20 pints of Stella and a late one.

I had a good old restorative cry in the pub with a pint of beer at lunchtime.  Good job I have a favourite watering hole that is dark and gloomy inside.  I’m sure I looked like I’d been through the wringer when I got back to work but nobody said anything.  Thank God for Vic.  He phoned in the afternoon and gave me a really good pep talk.  I felt a whole lot better.  And now even better after cheese slaw.

To lighten the mood, here is a picture of the squirrel I watched balanced on the very highest branches of the tree outside my 4th floor kitchen window on Saturday as I ate my lunch.  He’s a bit camouflaged and he looked much closer in real life.  I decided to call him Tony.  What a gymnast!

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

3 responses to “Stilton Cheese Slaw

  1. Moya

    Oh I do hope you are OK. When I read about you alone in the pub, I just wanted to rush over and give you the biggest hug. I hope you are feeling better now–you are very wonderful indeed and the thought of you feeling sad just breaks my heart.

  2. Aw, thanks sweetie pie. I shall wallow in the idea of a virtual hug from NYC. Feeling better now, just a little emotional blip!

  3. Lauren

    Sending you a virtual hug from Kansas, as well! Tony is the cutest. My husband loves them and even bought a stuffed one at the Vaux-le-Vicomte gift shop. Squirrels in Europe are so tiny! I remember wondering why they were half the size of American ones, but then I remembered that European people are half the size of Americans, too! 😉

    I love the idea of a cocoa night. I might steal it.

Leave a Reply

