Posted on

Friday Chicken

Vincent’s Chicken was a triumph.  I have never stuffed a chicken before, certainly not in the style Vincent suggests.  I stuck my hand under the skin and fiddled around lifting it up from the meat until there was room to put in my bread, parsley, sage. onion and egg mixture.  Shoving it down in the space between the body and the legs as he suggested.  It was quite a sensual experience.

MmM.  The resulting dinner was quite frankly delicious.  Really tender, lovely moist chicken with a crispy skin and tasty doughy stuffing stuff.  Vic, who was always King of Chicken Dinners in our house when we were together was full of admiration for my chicken.  It made my heart proud.  And pretty easy to do on a Friday night after work and still be eating by 9pm.

I learned a major life lesson tonight though.  Do NOT hustle a good friend out of your house just because you think a gentleman caller is going to pay a visit.  Minutes after Vic left I was stood up.  I immediately sent a text to him saying, “Come back!”as we were having such fun looking at old comedians on YouTube before I started getting anxious about a man who might be waiting for my call.  Alas, even though Vic lives in the same building I was too late.  He was already in bed with his supper tea.  Damn.

I must scan the wonderful picture that is in the Treasury that shows Vincent, Mary and two chums in their “mobile home” eating Friday Chicken.  It is just superb.  I’ve been reading a book that Ptolemy gave me about how to channel good stuff into your life and I’ve been thinking about asking for a new sofa.   Maybe I should be taking massive action and asking for a mobile home instead?

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes

About jennyhammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about the stars and their recipes in my spare time. This blog will record my attempts to make a Vincent Price dish once a week during the Vincentennial. I'm aiming to celebrate the joy of cooking Vincent Price brought to the world through his cookbooks, sound recordings and television series. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - this site records my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 5 years and counting!

One response to “Friday Chicken

  1. Lauren

    I need to make that recipe! I love the photo in the RV. However, living in Kansas, I would ask for the sofa! I don’t want to live in anything without a basement during tornado season…

Leave a Reply

