Posted on

Broiled Trout with Cucumber Salad

Cooee it is HOT in London tonight.  We are having a little heatwave and I am melting up here on the fourth floor.  So a lovely fresh cucumber salad and a little fishy was just perfect for my dinner.  Yum.  He was the last trout in the ice and the fishmonger was very flirty with me.  The Flirty Fishmonger.  Good title for a novel.

Here is my fish.  He was only 90p.  I was a bit shocked.  A fish for less than a pound.  A very cheap dinner and delicious too.  Can  you see the other fish underneath him on my fish plate?  That one always looks a bit crabby.  He may be a pike…

I have to be frugal this week.  I had a humdinger of a weekend at Vintage on the Southbank.  Loads of brilliant things happened, not least a lovely snog on the dance-floor of the Warehouse on Saturday night and a chance meeting with this fellow on the Sunday…  We spotted each other in passing and SHRIEKED with excitement at the co-incidence.  We’d never seen each other in our lives before but now we are bosom buddies.

I think the two of us should go to La Belle Sole in these outfits, I think we’d blend in with the new decor.  It was redesigned in 2007 and is now a nightclub so there won’t be any Broiled Trout with Cucumber Salad for us alas…

Recipe from: A Treasury of Great Recipes.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

8 responses to “Broiled Trout with Cucumber Salad

  1. Moya

    Oh so lovely! I am glad you had such a great time–and the dress looks wonderful. And the dinner looks tasty too. There is a great Northern Chinese (dong bei) dish that is just cucumbers and garlc. It’s beyond yummy as I’m sure was your dinner. And cheap too (I’m also being frugal myself–spent $1 to go to the Alex McQueen exhibit which was beyond swoonworthy).

  2. Ta ducks. I worked on a fantastic Alexander McQueen documentary earlier this year. I had a copy on DVD but I gave it to my desk-mate to give his girlfriend for her birthday. I’ll see if I can wrestle it back off him to make a copy for you! I am REALLY enjoying Mad Men. I settle down to an episode with my dinner each night. It makes me feel ALMOST like I have a television!

  3. By the way, he did give her some other things for her birthday – not just a DVD that I had given him!

  4. Moya

    More Mad Men will come your way soon! I’ll get Ev to burn some more for you. We have seasons 3 and 4–the fifth season (I think it’s the fifth) will be broadcast in January. If you can find the MCQueen doc, that would be lovely too. So glad you are enjoying Mad Men with your dinner.

  5. Lauren

    I can’t believe you and a random stranger were wearing the same fabulous print! Talk about serendipity!

    I just finished the 4th season of Mad Men. I started watching it when it came on AMC, but it conflicted with Masterpiece Theatre, so I had to wait for it to show up on Netflix. I didn’t really like season 3 as much as the others, but I can’t wait for season 5!

  6. Even weirder is the fact that when I posted this (and a front view) of me and this fellow on my facebook page, one of my friends knew who he was! A fashion designer apparently. If I spot a modern version of the chrysanthemum print on a frock in Oasis I will know who is responsible!

    I’m still on season 1 of Mad Men. Loving it.

  7. Scott W.

    I just have to say that it’s really a shame that nightclubs don’t serve Vincent’s broiled trout with cucumber salad. I might actually go into one if it did.

Leave a Reply

