Posted on

Curried Rice With Tomatoes

In the spirit of “waste not, want not” I made this with some of the leftover rice from last night.  Yum.  A nice easy thing to rustle up for a Spinster’s Saturday lunch.  I took it out into the garden with a 1/4 bottle of wine left over from last night along with a beautiful glass to drink from.  I was going to take a plastic cup but I’m channeling Cheryl Cole’s mantra “because I’m worth it” and decided on the cut glass crystal.  It’s a single glass I bought years ago in a charity shop and very beautiful.

I put the plate of food on the ground, took my crocheted blanket out of the bag to spread on the grass and the glass fell onto the plate and smashed all over the lettuce.  Ha ha!  I think the heavens are telling me that drinking in the garden alone is no way to circumvent the “no drinking alone in the Palace of Solitude” rule.

Now I am watching “Streetcar Named Desire” as a treat.  I plan to clean this room while it’s on.  After I’ve scoured the internet to see if the text message I just got from Jim is true, “Amy Winehouse she dead!”  In theory, I should probably go into work, the news channels will be going mad for “unseen” Amy Winehouse footage.  Perhaps the fuss will have died down by Monday…

Cooeee that Marlon Brando is a chunk of hunk in this movie.  Blime.  You gotta watch out for brutes like him.

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

3 responses to “Curried Rice With Tomatoes

  1. Lauren

    God, I love A Streetcar Named Desire, but I try not to watch it too often because it’s too damn depressing. Kind of like the rest of Tennessee Williams’s work. I love your “Spinster’s Saturday lunch!” You should start doing a segment on a Spinster’s Saturday Supper (I love alliteration).

  2. Moya

    Sorry to hear about the broken glass. I think you will be doing overtime tonight as the Amy Winehouse news is, indeed, true.

    By the way, the rice and tomatoes look yummy. I think I want that for my tea in this 100+ degree heat.

  3. Ha ha – I do love the idea of Spinster’s Saturday Supper! I was toying with the idea of doing another blog called “Miss Dine Alone” all about glamorous recipes for one. But I think two blogs is quite enough! I enjoyed Streetcar – started googling “Southern Cheer” to see if I could get me some but seems I can only get a KIT to make some. Now there’s an idea…

    Yes, poor poor Amy. Only 27. So sad. It will be mayhem at work.

Leave a Reply

