Posted on

Baked Ham in a Common Crust

Ho ho!  Ha ha!  Mmmmmmmmmmmm.  Remember when I made Joan Crawford’s “Turkey and Noodles Afredo” and Heather walked around holding her tummy claiming to be growing a noodle baby?  Well today I am carrying around a ham baby after I made this yesterday.

I got up early to make the common crust (excuse my negligee) which covered the big ole ham.

This is how it looked after 3 hours in the oven:

Making the Cumberland Sauce:

The King of Ham carves it up after the crust has been removed:

Nicole said it was probably the most delicious ham she’d ever eaten and I agreed. Luckily there were plenty of us to scoff it, Ptolemy, John (King of Ham who gave the cooking method the double thumbs up), Chris, Nicole, Anne and me.   Alas our compadres Sally, Mark, Loulou and Kit had to leave before we got the Vinceham out of the oven. Ooh, they missed a treat.  Maybe I’ll make another sometime…

Even though we all ate our fill, there was some left over and for lunch today Ptolemy made a wonderful pea and ham soup.  I am eating like a KING on this retreat!

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise.  Vincent says this recipe is courtesy of Mrs Beeton.

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

5 responses to “Baked Ham in a Common Crust

  1. Lauren

    I just adore ham. It’s the perfect party food because it’s even tasty at room temperature and the leftovers are always amazing. I’d never had Split Pea Soup until a few years ago, because my mother thought it was disgusting and never made it (I actually don’t think she’s ever eaten it). Now I can’t wait for cooler weather so I can make a big batch!

  2. Moya

    If the recipe came from Mrs. Beaton,it was certainly stolen from someone else (you must read the marvellous Mrs. Beeton bio by Kathryn Hughes). You look fab in both your negligee and jeans–and your ham looks scrumptious.

  3. Ha ha – love your use of the word “stolen”! The more research I do on recipe copyright the more interesting it gets! I shall certainly get hold of that bio. The only non food related books I ever read these days are my book group books. Luckily it was my turn to choose this time so I chose the Patti Smith memoir that has just come out. Am looking forward to that.

  4. Moya

    It’s a great bio–tons about copyright (including food) and lots about Victorian life and its seedy underbelly, including rampant syphilis and alcoholism. It’s a gripping read and I think amazon.co.uk has it for a few pennies–maybe a future book club read?

  5. Pingback: Joan Crawford's Salad (Joan served with chicken or ham) - Silver Screen Suppers

Leave a Reply

