Posted on

Wilted Spinach Salad with Bacon Dressing

I’m on writing retreat at Ptolemy’s in the Kent countryside and it is just marvellous!  The countryside is dripping with bounty.  There is a massive plum tree in the garden with beautiful ripe plump plums ready for the taking and we spent an hour or so picking blackcurrants at the nursery next door.  Ptolemy is going to make blackcurrant ice-cream tonight.

Had a lovely unexpected afternoon with Mr S on Thursday as he tempted me away from the packing with a lunch of Mexican beer and Huevos Rancheros.  Oh yum.  He kindly transcribed the recipe for Vincent Price’s Friday Chicken which I intended making last night but Sally spatchcocked the chicken when I wasn’t looking!  I rustled up the spinach salad to go with it.  I wanted to get some of Ptolemy’s work in the picture of the salad above, she really makes some beautiful things.

It’s fabulous to get one last look at the loom in the greenhouse.  Pt has a new one that actually fits inside her studio so the old one has been sold.  It’s probably the most photographed loom in the world, so here’s my contribution before it leaves its greenhouse home.


Ptolemy will no longer have to weave in a bikini…

Recipe from: Cooking Price-Wise

About Jenny Hammerton

I am a film archivist living in London, making film star fodder and writing about movie stars and their recipes in my spare time. My main website is at www.silverscreensuppers.com - over there I record my attempts to cook the favourite dishes of the greatest film stars of Hollywood's Golden Era - 10 years of nonsense and counting!

2 responses to “Wilted Spinach Salad with Bacon Dressing

  1. Lauren

    How lovely to have a spatchcocking friend! 😉 I love a good spinach salad. Yum!

    Sounds like you’re having a fabulous time in Kent. I would just like you to know that I’m insanely jealous. It’s supposed to be 104F/40C degrees here today. I’m too pale for this!

  2. I am surrounded by amazing cooks here this weekend. People who REALLY know what they are doing, so I am a bit in awe. Love the fact though that EVERYONE loves a cucumber crocodile!

    It’s English summer here so we went to the local village fete today and it was POURING with rain. And the very wet kind too. So we skirted around the plant stall attempting to keep dry under various umbrellas and came home again, soaked.

    Poor you though, 104F is toooooooo much.

Leave a Reply

